Your Daughter: What NOT to tell her about her body

I came across this beautiful article when a friend had shared it on facebook.

I had to share it with you.

What I love most about it is how simple it is. It doesn’t say anything too earth shattering but is a gentle reminder of how we, as moms/human beings, first talk to ourselves. If we choose to praise our daughter’s when they lose weight, dress up, or have a boyfriend it usually equates to “I am loved when I_____.”

Stop.

Our daughters–our sons, too–should feel loved regardless. Right?
Choosing our words and reflecting their experience. That’s what we need to do. I have caught myself commenting on other’s weight gain, weight loss, or a big change in their life in a more negative way. Typically, this is indicative of how I perceive myself.

“I’m valuable/pretty/exciting/worthy/mentionable when I ______.”

Check out the article, gain some clarity. As a parent, a spouse, a daughter, a sister, a human being….we need to be able to say “I’m sorry, I messed up. Lets do a re-do.” Perhaps we will learn more about grace and forgiveness from our kids reflecting it back to us. Humbling.
You are more than what the world demands of you.  Read more, here.
One thought on “Your Daughter: What NOT to tell her about her body

Leave a Reply

